top of page

Yoga Tree

" The stages of yoga are eight : Yama (moral commandments), Niyama (rules of self-purification), Asana (yoga positions), Pranayama (control of breathing), Pratyahara (withdrawal of sense), Dharana(concentration), Dhyana (meditation) and Samadhi (absolute bliss,salvation). They are all integrated.

A tree has roots, trunk, branches, leaves, bark, sap,flowers and fruits. Each one of these components has a separate identity, but each component can not by itself become a tree. It is the same with Yoga. As all the parts put together become a tree, so all the eight stages put together form Yoga. The universal principles of Yama are the roots and the individual disciplines of Niyama form t